Cambridge Meridian Academies Trust is a Multi-Academy Trust established by the Swavesey Village College on 1st April 2011.

The purpose of the Trust reflects the Objects of Cambridge Meridian Academies Trust:

‘high quality educational provision at the heart of the community’

Where every child is a:

  • Successful Learner, who enjoys learning, makes progress and achieves;
  • Confident Individual who is able to live a safe, healthy and fulfilling life;
  • Responsible Citizen who makes a positive contribution to the communities in which they live.

Where the school is a:

  • hub for community activities and a place where people of all ages meet and integrate;
  • centre for extended services for children, families and the community;
  • source of immense pride for the whole community.

The focus of the Cambridge Meridian Academies Trust is upon:

·         The strategic direction of the Trust as it responds to local and national demands and policy;

·         Efficiency and effectiveness of executive leadership and services across the schools;

·         Standards and achievements across the Trust’s schools.

Whilst the Trust is the employer of all staff, it has delegated powers to the Local Governing Bodies to exercise governance arrangements for the two academies within the Trust.

The Local Governing Body is focused upon the individual school contexts, monitoring standards and achievement and their local community needs and aspirations.

·         Setting strategic priorities and plans

·         Monitoring standards and achievement within the school

·         Ensuring Trust policies are implemented

·         Engaging with all stakeholders to improve outcomes

·         Supporting and positively challenging practices within the school, through the School  Leadership Team.


Swavesey Village College Local Governing Body

Trust appointed Governors

David Ruddy 

Chair of Governors

John Hall

Chair of Exec Personnel Com.

Alan Hardy

Chair of Exec Finance Com.




Andy Daly



Martin Dixon


Andrew Purton


Sonia Hegan

Chair of Achieve / Inclusion Committee


Chris Murray


David Hackshaw






Louise Baker

Staff Governor

David West

Staff Governor

Community appointed



Liz Bush


Rev Dr John-David Yule


Lynn Tranter


Peter Sampson

Chair of Ethos and Standards Committee

Cllr Nick Wright